Ho ho, snow snow

Still pretty much snowed in…

The grad student orphan lunch was assumed by all to be a no-go. But, I was so bored from being snowed in at home all day yesterday and otherwise today so I ventured out with another fellow student. I wouldn’t have driven today otherwise. If I get stuck I need an accomplice to push. Luckily no stuck-age.

The lunch was awesome. Lots of great food. Thanks!

When I pulled from lunch a lady, not knowing what she was doing, got nervous because she couldn’t drive up her street, turned into the front lawn-ish area of my apartment to park??? I asked if she needed help but I think she was nervous talking to a stranger. She called her husband or something.

I was watching a while, having a cup of coffee and asked again. I pushed a little but she was putting on so much gas that she was spinning the tires, making the situation worse as she dug herself in.

Eventually she got out but then didn’t cut the wheel enough and backed in the bank behind on the other side of the street this time. By now another guy and his lady friend had pulled into my apartment and joined the cause.

Then this local in his pickup asked in a demanding fashion, whether we needed help, saying that a toing would caost big bucks but he could do it for cheep. We said no thanks, but he was persistant. We ignored. Eventually we got her to get us to drive instead and I got her to agree to park in our lot – no one checks, and plus it’s the holidays.

It turned out that she just got off her two day shift at the hospital. She probably didn’t even get a chance to avoid the snow.

What’s up with people taking advantage of snow obstructed people, trying to make quick tax free cash? What ever happened to “do a good turn daily” or “help thy neighbor”? I guess this is what happens with pure capitalism America.

Leave a Reply

