Back from ESA

I’m back from ESA.

Staphylinids had a great representation this year. Preliminary molecular results were presented from the Staphylinini project, and also results from an Athetini molecular phylogeny. Staphylinines seem to be a really old group.

I was slightly insomniac during ESA. I would wake up at 4 AM and couldn’t fall back to sleep. It didn’t help that talks began at 7 AM this meeting. I spent yesterday and today sleeping in and recovering. I’ll be back full force starting tomorrow.

I’m starting up a molecular study myself. Right now I’m trying to gather material, and also collecting material myself. I’m doing some dissections right now to try and figure out appropriate ingroup taxa – although I do have a pretty good idea of what I’ll need.

Leave a Reply

