Back from my petite field trip

So I’m back. We stopped in New Mexico and Texas. Oddly, it was cool (not quite cold but too cool for bugs) and drizzling almost the entire trip.

Fun times with big’n-showy thangs but unproductive in the staph department. I was going to pitfall trap for Papasus in the sand dunes in New Mexico but the weather really didn’t permit even this. I struggled but was able to pull a few things out of plant debre.

The best catch of the trip was a phorid that I found hovering over a Pheidole immigration column. At the time I figured they were all females because they would hover over Pheidole workers, but I was never able to actually witness oviposition. Sure enough, when I took a look at them under the scope I saw that I had only collected one female while I collected close to five males. I think they’re Pseudacteon but I’m not sure.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On a different note. Let’s walk memory lane whilst discussing the urgent matter of myrmecophiles – well it’s not urgent.

This is from road trip ’08 – chapter, coastal California.

Cremastocheilus defends itself from the scarry camera by outstreching his limbs

Cremastocheilus defends itself from the scary camera by outstreching his limbs

Cremastocheilus is restricted to the New World and most are myrmecophiles. Larvae develope in nest debre and  adults prey on brood. There are a few odd balls, one occurs in Neotoma (pack rat) middens and and another in rotting yucca.

And down the hill side, a real beautiful mountain river where Myllaena and Geodromicus were common under river bank cobble stones.

River runs through mountains of coastal California

River runs through mountains of coastal California

Leave a Reply

